Paris (September 11,
2000) – The Director-General of the United Nations Educational, Scientific
and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), Mr. Koïchiro Matsuura, endorsed
the Declaration of Chapultepec today when he put his signature to the document
in a special ceremony at the UNESCO headquarters in Paris, France.

The Declaration was
drafted at a hemisphere conference on free speech in Mexico City in 1994
sponsored by the Inter American Press Association (IAPA). It sets out 10
principles for ensuring freedom of the press. The Declaration of Chapultepec
was also supported by the previous UNESCO Director-General Federico Mayor
Zaragoza in 1995.

IAPA President Tony
Pederson presented Matsuura with a plaque commemorating his endorsement
of the Declaration and commitment to free speech and press freedom. Pederson
stated, "We hope that Mr. Matsuuras example will continue to spread
throughout the Americas bringing hope and strength to our struggle in protecting
the freedom of journalists to report the truth in a safe environment without
fear for their lives or the lives of their families, and of all citizens
to enjoy the right to freely express themselves."

Other UNESCO representatives
in attendance during the signing ceremony included Sonia Mendieta de Badaroux,
Chairperson of the Executive Board; Alain Modoux, Director of the Division
of Communications, Information and Informatics; and Marcello Scarone, Specialist
for the Programme for Freedom of Expression, Democracy and Peace. Representatives
from other press freedom organizations also participated in the event, including
Larry Kilman, Director of Communications of the World Association of Newspapers
(WAN); Bernard Wouts, French Board member of the International Press Institute
(IPI); and Ronald Koven, European Representative of the World Press Freedom
Committee (WPFC).

The IAPA was represented
by its top officers, including: President Tony Pederson, Houston Chronicle,
Houston, Texas; First Vice President, Danilo Arbilla, Búsqueda, Montevideo
Uruguay; Chairman of the Executive Committee, Andrés García
Gamboa, Novedades de Quintana Roo, Cancun, Mexico; Alejandro Miró
Quesada C., El Comercio, Lima, Peru, and Chairman of the Chapultepec Committee;
former Presidents Andrés García Lavín, Novedades de
Mérida, Yucatán, México and James McClatchy, McClatchy
Newspapers, Sacramento, California; distinguished members Bartolomé
Mitre and Alberto Schazín, La Nación, Buenos Aires, Argentina;
and IAPA Executive Director Julio E. Muñoz.

Before the signing ceremony,
the IAPA delegation was invited to lunch by the Director-General, where
they discussed a wide variety of IAPA activities, including the Impunity
Project and investigation of unpunished crimes against journalists. Pederson
also invited Mr. Matsuura to attend the IAPA Midyear Meeting in March 16-20,
2001, in Fortaleza, Brazil.

Otras Informaciones

Deja tu comentario

Tu email no será publicado. Campos requeridos estan marcados*